Twelve Month Goals

First off, thanks to all who lent their support and gave me their congratulations over the new job.  As I said, I’m very excited and I hope that I can live up to Dave’s, and my own, expectations. 

Today’s been like the last day of summer holidays preparing for a new school year, and as any teacher will tell you, the start of the year is a great time to revisit your goals and priorities.  

I took a few hours this afternoon to think about my career so far and there are some things that I’ve been good at, and want to keep going, and there are some things that I’ve struggled with a bit.  So here we are: 

  1. Excellence in execution.  To make everything I do as good as it can be 
  2. To eradicate mistakes in my writing.  It may surprise you to realize that my first drafts can be hit or miss.  Lisa, you may want to jump in here! 
  3. To add strategic value to all of my accounts and new business initiatives 
  4. To improve my working knowledge of technology.  Even back in the UK working on tech accounts, I’ve always had more of a big picture view of why to use software, as opposed to how.  Now I need to get my head around producing podcasts and html programming 
  5. Continue to be active in the social media network.  This means I’ll be reading as much as possible, leaving comments, posting regularly and you may even hear me on some podcasts as well 
  6. To conceive and implement two truly innovative ideas within 12 months 
  7. To continue to show passion and commitment in all that I do 

What are your goals for the next 12 months? 

Thanks to Paull for inspiration on this one. 

Do you represent a laptop manufacturer or retailer?  Do you want your logo here?  If you do, please email me!  

5 Responses to Twelve Month Goals

  1. Julia says:

    Welcome to the team Ed, looking forward to working with you.

  2. Paull Young says:

    Ed,

    Glad I could give you some inspiration! I think it’s handy to publish your goals – then you’ve got extra motivation to achieve them.

    It’s a comprehensive list, you’re certainly aiming high. Make sure you report back to us on how you go!

  3. I remember at the start of every school year being made to sit down on the first day and draft out not only our goals but how we were going to achieve them.

    I’ll give some thought to my own goals.

  4. Felicity Fagan says:

    Ed Lee loves his profession – an ambassador
    Do let me know what the next innovative idea is and how exactly you are going to execute it?

  5. Ed Lee says:

    How did I know that Felicity Fagan’s first comment on my blog would be brimming with sarcasm?

    For those of you unlucky enough to have not met Felicity, she is an amazingly talented PR, very close friend and has been known to drink sailors under the table.

    She is also responsible for getting me my first internship in PR – so you can all blame her!

    Ed

Leave a comment