Random Friday Music

This Friday’s playlist had a savage dance bent to it but I trimmed that back by putting in some Oasis and Radiohead.

I was trying to put in Mylo’s Drop The Pressure but I couldn’t find it on the YouTube.

The tunes that made it are:

1. Badly Drawn Boy – Silent Sigh

I only actually like two songs by Badly Drawn Boy – this one and Four Leaf Clover.

2. Seamus Haji – Last Night a DJ Saved My Life

An absolutely cracking remix of the 70’s disco classic with some really powerful trance beats.

3. Oasis – Morning Glory

Contains the greatest line (no pun intended) ever. “All your dreams are made, when you’re chained to the mirror and the razorblade.”

4. Layo & Bushwacka vs Kings of Tomorrow – (Finally a) Love Story

An ultra funky dance mix with some very cool saxaphone riffs and powerful vocals from Julie McKnight.

5. Radiohead – No Surprises

Love this video. A classic

6. Paul Weller & Amy Winehouse – Heard it Through the Grapevine

I love Paul Weller but hate Amy Winehouse so its surprising that this Marvin Gaye cover is so good.

But I couldn’t find Black Lab’s Mine Again (96 in the Canadian iTune charts last time I checked) for inclusion…

8 Responses to Random Friday Music

  1. Laura says:

    How can you hate Amy Winehouse and love Oasis??? Must be something in the water in Toronto…

  2. Jackie says:

    How can you hate Amy Winehouse?!?

  3. Jackie says:

    Wow. I didn’t even see Laura’s comment before I posted.. but now that I have, I guess you really must explain yourself Ed. 🙂

  4. Ed Lee says:

    How can anyone not hate her? In fairness, her music isn’t as bad as…I don’t know, Pete Dope-ho-erty.

  5. Jackie says:

    A little booze makes her…uh… interesting.. you can’t let that take away from her voice though.

  6. Ed Lee says:

    her voice is ok. it’s not great. she’s no…whoever a good female singer is.

    in truth, I’ve heard better vocals on 2nd rate dance tracks.

  7. Leona Hobbs says:

    I was at a brutal Badly Drawn Boy show at the Palais Royale in November 2004. For his first set he played his entire new album cut-for-cut (including tedious instrumentals), and rambled on with self-indulgent stories about how Bruce Springsteen is his idol, etc. etc. I had such a shitty time, I couldn’t listen to his stuff for ages. I agree with you tho’, Silent Sigh is his best song.

  8. Ed Lee says:

    I guess bloggers and musicians are both prone to long bouts of self indulgance then 🙂

    Although Four Leaf Clover edges it slightly for me…

    Ed

Leave a comment