PUMA: Love or Football

The famous Liverpool FC manager, Bill Shankly, once said

“Some people believe football is a matter of life and death, I am very disappointed with that attitude. I can assure you it is much, much more important than that”.

Well, PUMA set out to see if this was true – do football fans really love their clubs more than their wives? The answer, in the form of some compelling, thought provoking and divisive branded content is below.

Visit Love or Football for the full “white paper”.

I’m really interested to see how this intelligent approach works for PUMA, especially vs than the usual football marketing – usually we get a glossy high octane piece of video, based on the same old insights, with incredibly skilled players doing incredible skills. Don’t get me wrong, I love the traditional approach and it is one of the main reasons I look forward to the major football tournaments every 2 years…the ads! But this approach is inviting conversation, discord and debate – perfect for getting people to share in and pass along the brand’s message and heritage in the beautiful game. It adds another dimension to the way we can think about marketing our clients.

The other thing that is interesting is the result of the test – I can’t comment on the methodology so I have to presume it is fine! From a human level, it shows the power of peer pressure and conformity – these men, of all generations, know how a true football fan is “expected” to behave and this learned behaviour is enough to override a strong physiological response honed over thousands of years. For what its worth, while I love my club, I know I love my wife more – I just wish they could get along better.

One Response to PUMA: Love or Football

  1. Mat says:

    Great post Ed – just in time for the new season

Leave a Reply

