Meetings are like golf

One of my housemates at Uni was, and still is, an amazing golfer. Actually, two of my old housemates are amazing golfers but I forget about one because he abandoned us after less than a week to move in with his girlfriend. Who lived with my (then) girlfriend. But I digress.

Whenever we played golf, he would patiently watch me hack my way around the course and, whenever I was in the rough around the green, offered me this advice.

“Your worst putt [from the fringe] will be better than your best chip, so put down your pitching wedge and pick up your putter.”

So it’s worth remembering that your weakest note-taking will be better than your strongest, deepest, memory.

So make sure you put down your ego, which tells you you can remember everything and pick up your pen.

One Response to Meetings are like golf

  1. I suppose when you put it that way, even the smartest guys in class would have trouble competing with those who are most prepared for the exam. Growing up , people have given me a lot of advice and a lot of them seem to agree that hard work can trump over inborn talent anytime.

Leave a Reply

