Stop showing off your Blinn

I was just chatting with someone (sorry, I forget who) the other day about how quiet the whole blogging scene had gotten really. Nothing much was being said, there weren’t any new young turks splashing on the scene and I hadn’t seen a good pile-on in ages.

Until today.

Various people within iStudio/FH have forwarded around The Infamous List of Bad Flaks put together by Chris Anderson and there have been a few useful discussions to come out of it. (Thankfully there was only one FH address on the list, but I digress).

Anyway, I didn’t think there was much value in talking about it – the tension between hacks and flaks is well documented at the best of times.

Until today.

Courtesy of the always entertaining Valleywag comes a tale of The Great Flame Wars of October 2007.

One New York agency, upon seeing that none of its employees was on said list immediately started gloating to various industry members, some of whom may or may not have been clients of one of its rivals.

Cue furious emails, “your mother” jokes, empty threats and some amusing tales. All of which were utterly unthreatening and laughable.

Silicon Valley Insider has republished the highlights but here is the abridged BMBY version:

Agency A: Your PR agency has been banned by one of your key publications. Come work with us – we’re free and clear!

Agency B: You unethical b’stards!I’m going to steal your clients AND your employees – hiring bonuses to all!

Agency B: All Agency A employees, send me you pay checks, your clients and your souls. Mwah-ha-ha-ha-ha.

Agency B: I’m going to hire someone to stand outside your office and poach your employees and your clients.

Agency A: Can you make sure she’s good-looking please? Perhaps she can hand a sheet on how not to get black-balled by a key publication.

Fantastic stuff – I had a great laugh while studiously ignoring some crappy medical drama…

Thanks to Blinn PR and frequent Strumpette victim, 5WPR for a much needed break although my wife had the best comment of them all. She said if she was a client of either agency, she’d fire them for being idiots, being unethical idiots and spending more time on flaming each other with empty threats than working on their client’s accounts.

Technorati tags:

3 Responses to Stop showing off your Blinn

  1. Ha ha ha! I was just waiting to see how many gloating posts would come out of that by agencies in the clear. I had to giggle at the first line of Anderson’s follow-up post too (“so it seems I struck a chord’) As soon as I read that, I thought to myself “Well, buddy, looks like you’re about to strike another!”

  2. Ha ha ha! I was just waiting to see how many gloating posts would come out of that by agencies in the clear. I had to giggle at the first line of Anderson’s follow-up post too (“so it seems I struck a chord’) As soon as I read that, I thought to myself “Well, buddy, looks like you’re about to strike another!”

  3. Dave says:

    I find the back-and-forth pretty upsetting to be honest – this is the last thing that PR needs right now. It’s enough of a battle to show the professional side of our business without things like this lowering the tone.

    I’m especially disgusted by the borderline-sexist “Can you make sure she’s good looking please?” part.

    Your wife is spot on – do they really think that their clients won’t notice? Do they really think this is good for their business or the industry as a whole?

    Wow.

Leave a Reply

