How competitive is too competitive?

I’m competitive. But there’s a difference between wanting to win and needing to win so badly you get into a…disagreement with your own team mates. In my defence, their idea of having fun is gently jogging around the pitch while my idea of fun is to end a game bruised and exhausted yet, and more importantly, victorious.

Thinking back over the last four or so years working in a predominantly female environment, I’ve come to the conclusion that my competitiveness isn’t some sort of innate genetic quality but something that has been instilled in me.

Don’t believe me? Just look at the next “fun” quiz in a staff meeting or “team-building” exercise your office goes on. PR women in agencies are ridiculously competitive, and they sometimes play dirty!

2 Responses to How competitive is too competitive?

  1. Pops says:

    There’s nothing wrong with a fierce competitive spirit to get a result.

    Bodyslam!

  2. Jessica says:

    My problem is that I always want to be Number One. Well, I think I’m very competitive, but it doesn’t bother my colleagues, but it does bother me. I really feel frustrated every time I am not the best.

Leave a Reply

