Strumpette is…

I’ve been a long time reader of Strumpette. When “she” came on the scene the blog got the required response out me – “wow, who’s this smoking hot PR chick breaking the blogosphere’s balls?”. I know that some of my friends felt the same.

Then our relationship soured. I didn’t like the way she went after people in very personal ways. Calling BL Ochman something I can’t repeat somewhere my Grandmother reads ellicted a laugh but I stopped reading for a while.

Finding out “she” was “they” and “they” were middleaged men didn’t help. I don’t like SL for much the same reason.

When I started this blog I was pretty excited (and a little intimidated) when I got an “Amanda Chapel” comment and have had what could described as a cordial relationship. “She” leaves some comments (that always add to the *ahem* conversation) and sometime I get the odd email from “her”.

There’s been a big discussion over exactly who writes for Strumpette and I think I’ve worked out who one of them is.

It wasn’t easy. I had to read a lot of comments and blog posting both from Strumpette and people I had on my watch list. I compared language, vocab and syntax but in the end an email confirmed my fears.

You have to squint a bit (or click the link) but yes, David Jones is a Strumpette.

**UPDATE – Who would’ve thunk it? Shel Holtz as a contributor to Strumpette**

7 Responses to Strumpette is…

  1. Colin McKay says:

    That email’s from November, Ed. Been keeping this in your back pocket?

  2. Eden Spodek says:

    You’ve got to be kidding! Is this a joke? How many other “Strumpettes” are there?

  3. Ed Lee says:

    Colin – i had to make sure…

    Eden – she is legion for they are many.

  4. David Jones says:

    Strumpette apologist, mais oui. Card-carrying Strumpette, no.

    I’m very much Groucho Marx on these sorts of things: I wouldn’t want to join a club that would have me for a member.

  5. Bill Sledzik says:

    Ed,

    I’m one of those folks who enjoys Strumpette. I view it as comic relief in a business that takes itself way too seriously. Yet on the day I stood up and said so, I swear I lost 3 or 4 links. Had me wondering if those who dislike Amanda took me off their blogrolls. But I’m not paranoid enough to research it. As for all the speculation of Strumpette’s collective identity, that’s fun, too. But in my fantasy, I want her to be the girl in the bio!

    This was my take, if anyone’s interested:
    http://toughsledding.wordpress.com/2007/01/22/i-think-she-likes-me/

  6. Ed,
    I think this post is really just a ruse. YOU ARE STRUMPETTE! Admit it! Come on. Come on. Just stand up and say . . . .
    Mike😉

  7. Ed Lee says:

    I wish I was that lucid.

    Or as Bill would say, “perky”.

    Ed

Leave a Reply

