CSI: Bloggtipping

Leo Bottary

It’s the first of the month, and that means blogtipping day.  I’ve been fortunate enough to have blog tipped a couple of times by Chris Clarke and his boss Joe Thornley and I’ve known the pleasure a blogger derives from some kind words. 

So, this cloudy October afternoon, I’d like to blogtip…Client Service Insights.  The Tampa based Senior Vice-President and U.S. Director of Client Service of Hill and Knowlton, Leo Bottary has been a must read blog for me since I found him.  In the spirit of blogtipping, here are three things I like and one tip for Leo. 

1.  The content – Leo looks at a very niche space, something he’s an expert at and is clearly passionate about.  All PRs can learn something from this blog – whether it’s about client service (Leo’s first passion) or running (his second) that he talks about once a week.  My favourite lesson has been to use all the resources available to you, as a junior PR, to get your job done.  This includes asking help from people – not being afraid they’ll hold it against you. 

2.  The writing – there’s a great tone to Leo’s writing.  It’s short, sweet and easily digestible but, at the same time, there’s a deeper meaning. 

3.  The sense of community – Leo’s taken a page out of David Maister’s book and taken the time to thank all the people who’ve commented or trackbacked to him.  The list is bound to grow each month as more and more people discover his excellent thinking. 

And a tip…There’s not too much I can add to what I’ve said, so there’s no tip, more of a request. 

I loved the series focused on new and junior staffers he did a few weeks back (here’s the wrap up post) and think more of these would be great.  One that would be particularly useful for me would be a series on giving your internal clients’ great service. 

As a PR, we all have three pressures on our work – the media, the client and the agency we’re at.  I think there are enough blogs out there giving tips for media relations and as Leo’s done such a great job giving advice on the second one in my list, there’s no reason to think he couldn’t handle this third one.

Thanks for the great tips and insight Leo! 

Do you represent a laptop manufacturer or retailer?  Do you want your logo here?  If you do, please email me!  

3 Responses to CSI: Bloggtipping

  1. Leo Bottary says:

    Thanks Ed, that’s very kind of you. Don’t forget to submit your scariest client service story in our October contest – see today’s post! Feel free to encourage others as well. By the way, I think I’ll take a crack at your suggestion next week!

  2. Have to agree, Leo’s got a great blog going there with some really useful advice.

Leave a Reply

