A point to Mike’s Points

Happy birthday to Mike “Points” Driehorst!  65 today and he doesn’t look a day over 40… Mike was one of the first people to welcome me to the blogosphere and has been a constant supporter of this blog. 

I first found Mike through a post he wrote a while back on the high of a good media relations hit.  It was a great post and something I identified with very strongly – one particularly great Friday afternoon of media relations ended up with me on such a high, I was drinking tequila body shots with my boss, line manager and de facto mentor.  Good times. 

Mike shamelessly put out a request for links last week and I’m more than happy to oblige!  I wasn’t blogging back when Mike wrote his post but if I was, it’s a no-brainer that I’d have linked to it. 

Mike’s four points are: 

  • A good story – essential to any media relations success. 
  • Judgment – a turd is a turd no matter how much you polish it.  We need to be smarter at consulting with our clients to make the story relevant or package it in with something else. 
  • Relevance – make sure the people you’re targeting will be interested and haven’t covered the topic before (if you’re feeling lucky, sometimes just not recently will do) 
  • Presentation – make sure you send the relevant information in the media contact’s preferred format.  *Very Important*

Good luck with your media relations in the week ahead! 

Do you represent a laptop manufacturer or retailer? Do you want your logo here? If you do, please email me!

Leave a Reply

