Doing it by the numbers

What a ride it’s been.  100 posts, 174 comments, 981 spam comments, 5598 visits, 119 links from 47 blogs, a Technorati ranking of 57,374, countless new friends, two podcast appearances, one new job and a wiki in a pear tree. 

All those numbers are in pursuit of one intangible goal – the better understanding of social media so I can better counsel my clients. 

That original objective was borne out of a real passion for social media, being able to see the potential in this new way of thinking and wanting to dive straight in.  I’ve been an enthusiastic poster, commenter and explorer all the time looking to document my exploration and your experience in social media – why else would I call this Blogging Me Blogging You? 

Everybody thinks they have something to say and that they can say it better than anybody else.  I was no different but now I’m humbled by the reception I got from my newly found peers.  Peers who can express themselves in better, funnier, more eloquent, more insightful and more grammatically correct prose than this flack.  

So what’s changed on the journey?  I certainly feel more comfortable in evangelizing social media and can even hold a conversation on it, to some extent, but I still haven’t got a case study to my name, so I still feel like a bit of a fraud.  At my new job, I get asked things as if I know the answers, but I’ve only got more questions. 

That’s the thing about social media – no one has the answers. 

No one knows what will work, only what might work, what might connect with the client’s audience and what their best guess is.  But with your help, I’ll keep learning, keep reading, keep listening and keep writing. 

One thing that I am certain of now is that PR is about experiences.  About creating the best possible experiences for our clients’ customers, for media, who put up with our constant pestering, for our clients, who actually pay our ridiculously high billing rates and for ourselves, who actually have to work in this madhouse.   

So thanks to everyone who’s commented, tracked-back, sent me emails complaining about the blog name or linked to me.  You’re too many to name all at once but for a good idea of who they are, check out my blogroll and check out my bloglines. 

I still haven’t got my laptop though! 

Do you represent a laptop manufacturer or retailer?  Do you want your logo here?  If you do, please email me!  

2 Responses to Doing it by the numbers

  1. Paull Young says:

    Good on you Ed! Talk about a prolific poster.

    I’ve got to agree that the only way to truly understand this social media stuff is by jumping in and having a go.

    I look forward to reading your stuff for a long time to come.

  2. toddand says:

    Wow! Exciting! I would have never pegged myself as the eloquent one, but thanks! Congrats on this momentous post.

Leave a Reply

