Crack Cocaine for Social Media Junkies

Why aren’t there more big Canadian companies blogging? Mark Evans wants to know what the Canucks aren’t following the lead of the U.S. into to the blogging world. I’m really surprised, especially as Canada seems to have a really active PR/marketing blogging community – Colin, Brendan (great list of Canadian bloggers), Joe, Dave, Chris, Donna, Mitch, Michael the list goes on…

I’m a huge fan of the potential of mobile in PR (it’s a long one) – here are some great tips on how to create content for the third screen from Canadian Business. Basically, keep it visual, heavy on the close-ups and light on the dialogue

Thanks to Leo Bottary for leaving a comment as it made me check out his own blog and subsequently find this gem on what to do when your account goes dead. The definition of madness is repeating the same action and expecting different results each time (I think) so it’s completely right agencies should start a post mortem. Leo tells you how

My girlfriend fiancée told me about Tide’s initiative in New Orleans and I just had to write about it. I’m no expert on corporate social responsibility (although Fleishman-Hillard is) so I can’t add much apart from the fact that this was one of the cleverest and most touching things I’ve seen a company do. I can well imagine the revitalizing feeling that clean clothes would bring after such a disaster and the comments would seem to support that…

News from Yahoo! (one of my clients) that Wikiality (reality determined by a majority vote) and Truthiness (truth unencumbered by the facts) have been named TV words of the year. When I was waiting for my new work permit to come through, I discovered The Colbert Report and am a huge fan

If you’re using a feed reader to view this entry, I’ve embedded Colbert and Jon Stewart presenting at the Emmy’s. Worth clicking through to here.

Do you represent a laptop manufacturer or retailer? Do you want your logo here? If you do, please email me!

2 Responses to Crack Cocaine for Social Media Junkies

  1. Leo Bottary says:

    Thanks for the nod. I look forward to reading more of your posts in the future as well.

  2. Paull Young says:

    From my perspective the Canadian blogosphere seems to be thriving.

    I’ve got a bunch of Canadian bloggers amongst my feeds, and many of them produce the best content I read regularly.

Leave a Reply

