Damn it!

If you’re in Toronto over the next few days, you may well see one of my best ideas coming to life.  It’s just a shame that I had nothing whatsoever to do with the execution. 

According to the Marketing.ca newsletter, subscription only so you’ll have to take my word for it, Absolut Vodka will be publicizing its new flavours such as Ruby Red (Grapefruit) through 16 foot long chalk drawings on the sidewalks of 30 high traffic pedestrian areas.  The concept “Absolut Eruption” was developed by TBWA (awful website) and executed with the help of two local artists. 

I’ve wanted to do something like this since I found this website, now I need to wait six months to a year before I can suggest it again…

rescue.jpg

A really good idea for up and coming PRs is to keep an ‘ideas book’ where you can note down and keep any good ideas you have or that you’d want to appropriate and claim as your own. 

One senior staff member I used to work with told me she had an initiative that she really wanted to use and rolled it out in client brainstorms every six months – she’s not had any luck but if you see the Cirque De Soleil doing guerilla marketing, let me know! 

Personally, I’m too disorganized to have it and then keep to it but I’m thinking of following in Dave’s steps and getting a pocketbook for ideas – which should help my blogging content and my brainstorming. 

Do you represent a laptop manufacturer or retailer? Do you want your logo here? If you do, please email me!

3 Responses to Damn it!

  1. newmw says:

    Beever’s work is quite amazing, I’d really like to see his work in real life sometimes, but the pictures are just amazing. A real perspective wizard🙂

  2. Mish says:

    I keep an idea book and it has done wonders for me. I take notes down when I read business books and when I see great live marketing examples. I use it when i feel brain dead from too much thinking or when I need inspiration. It really does help.

    Nice blog Ed…are you going to the AIMS event Sept 20th? http://www.aimscanada.com

  3. […] Last week I wrote about the Absolute Ruby campaign that TBWA are coordinating and today I got to meet two of the guys who are executing it on the north-east corner of Yonge and Bloor.  […]

Leave a Reply

