One small slip by man, one giant loss for mankind

If you’ve ever lost a piece of coverage, a report or another important piece of paper and then had your boss looking over your shoulder as you search for it. 

If you’ve ever had your filing system exposed for the chaotic mess that mine can become. 

Then this is for you. 

NASA has lost one of the most important historical documents of our time – the original recording of man’s first steps on the moon. 

Oh dear. 

I can sort of understand what happened – my personal filing system works by shuffling pieces of paper into highly distinctive piles. 

One pile is near the monitor and contains everything I’m working on.  It may be a bit all over the place, but I know exactly where everything is and is usually arranged in reverse chronological order from when I last needed the sheet of paper. 

Once the task has been completed, the piece of paper moves into another pile, un-filed, by client – just in case I need to use them again fairly soon. 

Then there’s the “I’ll never need it again but it’s too important to throw away” section of brown paper files and the there’s the actually filed away section. 

However, I think my system has been justified by the fact that I’ve never lost any historically important film. 

Incidentally, did you know that Neil Armstrong’s quote was written out for him before the mission and that he got it wrong?  The correct quote was supposed to be “That’s one small step for a man; one giant leap for mankind.” 

Do you represent a laptop manufacturer or retailer?  Do you want your logo here? If you do, please email me!

One Response to One small slip by man, one giant loss for mankind

  1. I read this news story. What are the odds of them turning up just in time for the 40th anniversary?

    ..or on ebay for £5?

Leave a Reply

