10 questions you should never ask

So, in response to Richard’s suggestion, I wrote a post covering questions entry level PRs shouldn’t ask here they are. Only when I say “I wrote” what I mean is “outsourced to my former account director”. So thanks to the very wonderful and talented Lisa Popplewell, who does have her own blog but not on PR, here are ten questions entry level PRs should not be asking.

  • Did you get my news release?
  • Please can you reconfirm the confirmation you are coming?
  • Do I have to?
  • How much do you get paid?
  • What does PR stand for?
  • Can I have a day in lieu? (ha!)
  • Can I go home early?
  • How old are you? This one’s particularly harsh for Lisa right now…
  • Is the Financial Times an important publication for us? (Alternatively, try asking who Seamus O’Regan is in a meeting…that goes for mid-level PRs as well!)

And three bonus questions:

  • Can I put these on expenses?
  • Do you mind if I take a longer lunch break?
  • What are you doing?

For advice on what entry-level PRs should be doing on pitch day, check out Richard’s current post. Then walk around the office frowning.

On another note, I’m listening to Seth Godin on ATS. Wow, that guy’s clever. Really clever. If I take a shot in the dark and predict this episode will be the most downloaded one ever, I don’t think I’ll be wrong.

As I’ve done two links, I think I might as well do a third. Shel’s coming to Toronto and if I can persuade Dave to give me the afternoon off, I’ll be there!

Do you represent a laptop manufacturer or retailer? Do you want your logo here? If you do, please email me!

*Disclosure – I just edited the opening paragraph back into English from whatever gobbledegook I wrote it in first time.*

5 Responses to 10 questions you should never ask

  1. I do like how the discussion has been elevated to a more personal level rather than the objectivity this blogsite was established with! Questions that Ed has asked in his career that maybe he should have included:
    Do you represent a laptop manufacturer or retailer? Do you want your logo here?
    Would you consider having relations with anyone in your office…
    Bodyslam that.

  2. How much overtime am I being paid for this?
    Can you make me a coffee please?
    What do you write about?
    Would you write about [client] if we paid you?

  3. Ed:

    I was equally impressed with Seth on Across the Sound No. 47 – the “Celebrity SethMatch.”

    He did explain why he does not allow comments. Essentially, he says that he would not have the time to police and moderate all of the comments, but that he certainly DOES engage with his readers on a one-on-one level by answering their e-mails — and right away.

    While I remain steadfast in my view that a “true blog” needs to enable comments, I like the way that Seth explained himself. It was done in a much more human and personal tone than on his blog a couple of months ago. But then … that extra touch of the voice is one advantage that podcasting has over blogging.

    –Bryan Person
    Blog: Bryper.com
    Podcast: NewCommRoad.com

  4. David Jones says:

    Can I borrow a piece of paper….and a pen?

  5. Ed Lee says:

    i got dragged over the coals by my old MD for not bringing my notebook to a meeting…never again!

Leave a comment