Blog tipping for Alex and Ben

If I can be incredibly self-indulgent before I’m a little more altruistic…

Wow. Yesterday was a banner day for Blogging Me Blogging You.  I had more than 170 visitors, about 50 more than my previous best, and was blog tipped by Joe Thornley who said some extremely kind things and who made me blush quite a bit.  Joe, thank you so much not only for the tipping but also for your support since I jumped head first into the blogosphere. 

And to everyone who keeps on coming back, keeps on commenting and keeps my enthusiasm for this medium going – a big, big thank you! 

So, I kind of missed blog tipping day yesterday but I’d still like to get involved and as an apology, I’d like to blog tip the irrepressible Alex Pullin

  • The story she’s telling is compelling in a way that many of us could never be.  Her search for a job reminds me of what it was like when I was looking and that really strikes a chord with me  
  • She’s quite subversive in her own way.  The aggressive way she got those discounted tickets to the CIPR conference was also very cool – good one Alex! 
  • She’s putting her time off to good use and is growing her network of people she reads and who she comments on.  It’ll pay off later in your career.  She also caned me on a little competition we had last week on who could get the most Linked In contacts (there’s still time to add me to your contacts though!) 

Now a tip, not for Alex, but for all the PR companies in London (UK).  HIRE HER.  From what I’ve read and from the conversations we’ve had, it seems as if she’d be a kick-ass hire. 

Second up I just wanted to give some advice to Ben Craddock, he of the But Why? blog.  Ben’s a bright guy and he’s going to have a lot to say so I’d strongly recommend you putting him into your RSS reader. 

Dude, fill your blog roll up, get your outgoing links sorted out and then let loose.  Jump in with both feet to the community you belong to – comment, trackback and audio comment your heart out.  Alex and Richard did the same and their blogs look as if they’re going really well. 

Once you’ve got your name out there make sure to post your heart out so people get into the habit of coming back to you.  I’m pretty sure your content is going to be great so you don’t need to worry about that – just have fun and get involved in the conversations you find interesting! 

Oh, and happy birthday! 

Do you represent a laptop manufacturer or retailer?  Do you want your logo here?  If you do, please email me!  

2 Responses to Blog tipping for Alex and Ben

  1. Wow-ee thank you very much for all your kind words Ed! You have made me blush. Although now I have to run over to ‘Wages’ and find something highly sophisticated and mildly controversial to write (as apposed to the usual other way around), in order to live up to your comments.

    Congratulations on the site traffic, I’m sure it is just a sign of things to come.

  2. Nice job blogtipping, Ed. Through this fun meme I’ve gotten to know you and now Alex as well. It’s a great way to start the month.

Leave a Reply

