Tagged – I’m “it”!

I’ve been tagged.  Not covered in anti-social post modernist graffiti but blog-tagged by the very wonderful Alex over at Wages of Spin who’s challenged me to come up with top five social mee-jar (I’m still very “London”)! 

Before I get started, there is a small point I’d like to make about social media.  There is a small barrier to entry for all of these things and the good news is that it’s a two foot wall.  You’ll get over it. 

The only thing holding you back from trying all this cool stuff is you.  Just invest a little of your time and effort and you’ll be amazed at the results you’ll get.  So here they are, my five favourite social media technologies: 

I think that the top three are probably no brainers as you’ve no doubt read my posts on Bloglines and Firefox, both of which I’m loving.  My third choice is clearly WordPress

The out of the box functionality, basic analytics package, look and feel of the templates made it a perfect tool for this wet-behind-the-ears blogger.  I didn’t like the Blogger templates and I know that they don’t provide the same sort of analytics (without Google Analytics) as other platforms. 

The one thing I’m not so keen on with WordPress is that unless you host it yourself, it’s very hard to get creative with it.  My fourth fav tool has to be the trackback.  It allows the conversation to grow organically and to be transplanted to multiple blogs and to expose new ideas to a wider readership, all the time giving credit to the originator.  From very selfish, ego-boosting kind of way, a trackback is also a fabulous tool to grow my readship and a well placed trackback on an A-lister like Seth Godin does wonders for my traffic. 

Fifth is a hard one.  Dave’s been showing me some really interesting stuff recently like Google Trends and I’ve been exploring Technorati a lot more as well as continuing my love/hate affair with del.icio.us.  I love the fact that I can tag and store anything I want but I hate that I can store anything I want!  I end up looking back through my tags and thinking “Why the hell did I tag that”.  Yes I could add notes, but let’s face it, I don’t. 

But my fifth choice is the iPod. Its not new but I am totally in love with it.  Previously my girlfriend gave me a 64mb player from Rio which was nice if a little limiting.  Now I have my 20gb iPod, I’m totally in love.  I actually left my first iPod on a bus to Buffalo (long story) which felt as if I’d lost an appendage!  Plus, having an iPod introduced me to iTunes and subsequently podcasts. 

It’s kind of ironic that one of my “social” technologies is one of the least inclusive, most anti-social pieces of kit ever invented, but life is full of these sort of dichotomies. 

So that’s my top five of social media technologies and now I’m tagging Dave (my new boss who has a great post about the WWE event we went to on Wednesday), Julia (my new colleague), Chris, The PR Girlz and Mike

Let’s hear it guys! 

Do you represent a laptop manufacturer or retailer?  Do you want your logo here?  If you do, please email me!  

One Response to Tagged – I’m “it”!

  1. Top 5 Social Media Tools

    So, thanks to Ed, I’ll give away all my social media secrets. To any good blogger, social media tools are like Batman’s belt or James Bond’s gadgets: always helpful, especially in a tight spot. Let’s do this countdown-style:
    5. …

Leave a Reply

