Racking up a Blogline

After my little adventure with Firefox (now working beautifully) I decided to take the big step and give Bloglines a try. 

And it was as easy as 3.14. 

I put the “Sub with Blogines” button into the live bookmarks toolbar, opened all of my bookmarked blogs in separate tabs (great feature from Firefox) and now I’m signed up. 

But there is one problem.  RSS fatigue. 

I just subscribed to Lifehacks which is an excellent, really interesting site but that updates itself constantly.  Rubel also experienced a problem today that meant whenever he posted, some 40 blog postings came up.  And I defy anyone with my level of OCD to ignore a black highlighted folder with a 40 next to it. 

Just as I’m a slave to unread email, my bloglines feed may have an uncontrollable hold over me… 

So in summary – loving Bloglines, loving Firefox and loving the fact we passed 2,000 hits today.  Because this blog isn’t just about my experiences, it’s about you as well.  Blogging Me, Blogging You. 

3.14 is Л.  It was as easy as pi.   

Do you represent a laptop manufacturer or retailer?  Do you want your logo here?  If you do, please email me!  

7 Responses to Racking up a Blogline

  1. Paull Young says:

    Ed – very, very funny! I’m exactly the same, and Rubel in particular has been causing me to tear my hair out.

    I simply MUST methodically work my way through my bloglines account any time I open it.

    I actually have to go so far as to careful plan when I check my feeds – cause once I’ve started I can’t stop until everything is read lol.

    Great post!

  2. C.C. Chapman says:

    So glad to hear that I’m not the only one with this problem.

    I loved when I started using Bloglines a few months back, but now I check it almost as much as e-mail which is a constant. It’s crazy. So you’ve got a support network out here of addicts as well. *grin*

  3. Ed Lee says:

    Only 50 new feeds today when I got in. Only 25 from Rubel!

    I love the fact that there is so much amazing information out there, love the fact that it get’s pulled into my consciousness but it can get very overwhelming.

    I’m so pleased I’m not the only one!

    Ed

  4. Chris Clarke says:

    Haha easy as pi. Clever.

  5. I have 37 unread posts by Scoble in my Bloglines account. He’s pretty darn prolific as well.

    Forutnately, I’m not yet a slave to unread posts in Bloglines! But give me time🙂

    –Bryan Person

  6. I’ll chime in a bit on being a Bloglines fan. Though, after a week out of the office in June at a trade show and last week on vacation, I’ve learned that catching up is a no-win situation.

    So, for those frequent bloggers out there, when I can’t check frequently, I mark you all as being read. My loss, I guess.

    Planning to get back into blogging soon.
    Mike

  7. […] information on how to subscribe using bloglines. Technorati tags: feedburner, rss, pr, ed lee, power […]

Leave a Reply

