How to judge seniority in a PR meeting

As a general rule, the smaller a book someone has, the higher up the food chain they are. If they don’t even open their book or better yet, don’t carry one and just tap their fingers on their blackberry, you know they’re pretty bloody powerful.

I can’t wait until I’m in a meeting with someone who not only doesn’t have a book or blackberry but says nothing and falls asleep. That’s how you know you’re in the presence of greatness. Me? I prefer an A4 size book and scribble furiously in meetings.

La Linka – Andy Cato: Links for Tuesday July 18, 2006

Inside look of a media tour – all the TV critics are in LA to preview the fall shows and Andrew Ryan of the G&M gives us a look behind the curtain. If anyone gets media, it’s the media so the critics get the five star treatment! And Mr. T will be back on the small screen. “I ain’t getting on no plane sucka”

Are book launches boring? – This one wasn’t. I’ll be at the Toronto version of the launch of Toby Young’s new book “The sound of no hands clapping” tonight at the used-to-be-trendy-before-the-iBankers-found-it Drake hotel trying to stir up some more trouble. If you haven’t read “How to lose friends and alienate people”, you really should. Or better still, let Toby read it to you via iTunes.

Kevin Smith talks Superman – if you’ve ever had a client that’s driven you crazy, you’ll feel Kevin’s pain as he’s asked to deliver a Superman script where he doesn’t fly, there’s no costume and there’s a huge spider. At least it explains, but in no way redeems, Wild Wild West which was the worst. Film. Ever.

Do you represent a laptop manufacturer or retailer? Do you want your logo here? If you do, please email me!

4 Responses to How to judge seniority in a PR meeting

  1. Yikes! That’s harsh, I hope no one in a meeting with me falls asleep no matter what level I am at. Plus, I like the look of the PR person – fake leather bound – notebook myself, even if all I do is draw flowers I still think it looks like I am paying attention.

  2. Boyd Neil says:

    I feel pretty powerful opening my 15″ MacBook Pro and taking clever notes on Evernote. But then I have a big honcho title.

  3. Boyd Neil says:

    In this at least, size doesn’t matter.

Leave a Reply

