Crack Cocaine for Social Media Junkies

Good first day at work today. My 100 step commute was very easy despite the pouring rain and I think I did a pretty good job at remembering most people’s names.

I’ll know just how good when I start calling “Jason” “Nick” or “Diana” “Delores” but all in all I had a very productive first day, doing a bit of writing, meeting my new client and getting to know the ropes that are so distinctive to each agency.

There was also cake, which is always a good thing!

Steady as she links – The Raconteurs: Links for Wednesday July 12, 2006

I could’ve used this today! A nice little life hack courtesy of Merlin Mann via Brendan Hodgson (a newly discovered competitor!)

How did you get into PR? Richard (who I’ve been dying to link to for ages) tells us his story. My very boring story is that I was offered an internship through a friend and during the interview I admitted that I had no idea what or how you would do corporate PR. I don’t know how, but I got the job, another internship after that and then I was offered a full time job…

Apparently “Amanda” left “Rocketboom”? Here’s the best analysis I’ve seen of it so far. In short, everyone wins. Rocketboom survives and goes from strength to strength, Amanda writes her own check and does whatever she wants. Disclosure – I’ve never watched Rocketboom before

Online advertising up – and, as Farrell points out, ad spends follows the eyeballs. AOL is so confident that it’ll grab a great big slice of the online advertising pie that it’s cutting the subscription cost of it’s service in half. This comes in the wake of an announcement that 6.6 per cent of Americans have downloaded podcasts

Do you represent a laptop manufacturer or retailer? Do you want your logo here? If you do, please email me!

3 Responses to Crack Cocaine for Social Media Junkies

  1. David Jones says:

    Cake, sushi, clients and wrestling. You don’t get that line-up on your first day very often. Welcome aboard.

  2. My first day was absolutely brutal. It coincided with a major staff meeting and myself and about 10 female staff members went upstairs and began going through where we were at with every client.

    I was struggling to remember the names, let along which client sold vaccuum cleaners or which client sold sex toys.

  3. […] Congrats, Ed Lee! First days are always the easiest, though. Do all bloggers-turned-PR hires get a cake? […]

Leave a Reply

