I am Mozilla, You are Japan

For anyone who saw the Best Gangster Film ever, Things to do in Denver when you’re dead, you may need a moment to reflect on how awesome it was.

For the rest of you, you probable need a moment to get the film into your StarFlix queue. Canada doesn’t have NetFlix

 

“You don’t use Firefox?” he asked, incredulously. “You can’t call yourself a blogger if you don’t have Firefox” he said.

 

So I downloaded Firefox. I installed it, opened it and looked for my favourites. No where.

 

I un-installed Firefox, rebooted and re-installed it. Looked for my favourites. No where.

 

Then I spent the next two hours with both IE and Firefox open manually opening my bookmarked sites in IE, copying the URL into Firefox and subscribing to feeds through the Live Bookmarks function (which will be in the next incarnation of IE).

 

Then, it worked fine.

 

The next morning (yesterday) I turned on the laptop (cranking the windup mechanism on the side) and experienced frustration like no other.

 

The live bookmarks function crashed every few sites I looked at and the pages themselves took (at one point) more than five minutes to load up.

I was not a happy blogger. In short, I was a few short steps from permanently uninstalling it and emailing the Mozilla foundation. But I couldn’t, I had stuff to do.

 

But when I got back I gave it one more chance and, I have to say, I’m loving it now. It really is a lot quicker now that it’s taken some time to fully ingratiate itself with my prehistoric laptop (etiquette is very important with this old dear).

 

I love the live bookmarks feature and I really like that you can open up whole swathes of pages as individual tabs to read and close at your leisure. Very cool. The “highlight text and then right click” search is especially excellent.

 

So despite all of my moaning and whining, I’m converted. I haven’t started playing around with the add-ons yet but I am starting to feel like I’m a proper blogger now!

Linking for the Weekend – Hard-fi: Links for Friday July 7, 2006

 

Podcasting goes corporate – Is it just me or is the MSM really six months behind? From the Globe and Mail so it may need subscription soon. A cool hack for PRs in Canada – if certain Globe articles are behind the firewall, you can always go in through Google News…a cool hack for bloggers looking to do some SEO – link to Google: their spiders love seeing Google links!

 

Harper tops the chart with podcasted speechJoe Thornley isn’t convinced that it represents a genuine commitment to podcasting, but at least he’s trying

 

Painting on the PR smileChris Clarke’s finding it hard to fit into a world full of fakers. My advice? Stay true to yourself as much as possible. The fakes will be found out and the genuine, passionate, authentic people will rise to the top. Why? Because everyone sees the same thing and we all, at the end of the day, value the same things: honesty, transparency and openness. Now where have I heard that before? Oh yes, it’s all the reasons that social media is taking over the world!

 

Apparently there’s a big game this weekend – Forza Azzurri is all I can say! I’m backing the Italians to win 2-0, Totti and Toni to get the goals.

Do you represent a laptop manufacturer or retailer? Do you want your logo here? If you do, please email me!

3 Responses to I am Mozilla, You are Japan

  1. Ed,
    It seems late now, but Firefox will let you import your IE Favorites. Live bookmarks? Have to try that one.
    Mike

  2. Ed Lee says:

    I think that I may have bypassed that step in my hurry to get it started and once I had clicked through, it didn’t let me go back.

    Seems to be working fine now, but some sort of idiot proof retro-active import button would be a nice add-on!

    Ed

  3. […] After my little adventure with Firefox (now working beautifully) I decided to take the big step and give Bloglines a try.  […]

Leave a Reply

