Stop slapping yourself on the back and start making case studies to be proud of

The Media Guerilla himself, Mike Manuel, writes a post that crystallizes something that I’ve been thinking about myself for a long time.

 

Are we, as PR bloggers and podcasters, a little too pleased with ourselves?

 

Have we become too preoccupied with our own “personal” brand and forgotten about the brands that we’re supposed to be representing?

 

I’ll be the first to admit that I’m addicted to the hit counter, daily stats and amounts of comments that I get on Blogging Me Blogging You but how does it help me move my clients’ agendas forward.

 

If I get 1,000 hits in the next day, what value is there to my clients? There’s very little intrinsic value to them – the only thing that they may benefit from is the peace of mind they get from being advised by someone who knows his stuff and is passionate about what he does.

 

Off the top of my head, there are a limited number of case studies that really show the power of social media.

 

Kryptonite locks – this is a negative and cautionary tale we use to sell blog monitoring services to clients. Yes it’s important to monitor what’s being said about you, but it’s more important to have a voice, a seat at the table.

 

Stormhoek – a fantastic programme that has, and will, be copied ad infinitum. If there is already an (un) official wine of the blogosphere, how long until there is an (un) official laptop or cell phone? If I were dishing out free advice to Dell, I’d strongly recommend a partnership with the major blogging platforms to add in a “powered by” tag to all posts created on their products.

 

FYI and Fastlane Blogs – they represent first move advantage to GM. As was widely reported a few weeks back, GM also harnessed the blogosphere to fight back against perceived misconceptions spread by the New York Times, and uncovered the culture of corporate arrogance rife in that publication.

 

My personal thought is that we should stop concentrating on being pleased with ourselves and start building compelling business reasons for our clients to strap on the Training Wheels and get involved in social media.

 

We all know the power of this new media, now it’s time to get out there, use our passion to persuade our clients to get their feet wet and get some more case studies in our portfolios.

 

It won’t be easy, effecting mind change in corporate cultures may move slower than a glacier, but we need some irrefutable case studies, backed by traditional marketing (not PR) metrics as to why our clients should join the conversation.

 

I Can Link – Sterling Ensemble ft Grant Green Jr: Links for Thursday July 6, 2006

Sopranos feud over – Just like a plot out of, well, the Sopranos, Tony (James Gandolfini) steps in to end a feud between Paulie (Tony Sirico), Silvio (Steven Van Zandt) and HBO over payment for the last eight episodes of the fantastic mob drama. Nothing to do with social media, everything to do with me watching the whole series on TLN

 

Christmas launch for iPod killer – Bill Gates doesn’t like to lose to Steve Jobs! The battle of the portable media devices can start in earnest this Christmas but the analysts are backing Steve (Apple is still a “buy” stock). Perhaps it’s due to the monopoly Apple already enjoys over the digital music industry?

 

The Rosemont Loving – My old friend and neighbour from University in the UK has been blogging for more than a year and I found him last week. Check him out (also posts to the Bitemarks blog)

 

Scoble’s tips on running a team – A bonus addition to my own top ten: Make your team stars and bask in the reflective glow

 

Do you represent a laptop manufacturer or retailer? Do you want your logo here? If you do, please email me!

One Response to Stop slapping yourself on the back and start making case studies to be proud of

  1. Adron says:

    You have brought up a great point.

    I often ponder this myself, as the marketing world and social media world does seem highly preoccupied with itself. It however, is part of the beast. One can’t really go about the industry, be effective, and not be into their own personal brand in addition to that of what they’re trying to get others bought into as well.

    But as you point out, maybe there is too much focus on our personal brands? This seems to be the case. I’m not even in marketing or social media, but am primarily a consultant and software engineer/architect but am very concerned with my personal brand. It dictates what work comes along, how hard I’d have to go look for work myself, etc. IF I have good branding and people understand what I’m capable of they seek me out for specific things, instead of me having to chase down work.

    In the end, me being concerned with my personal brand is better for the company I’m working for and for me. It is truly one of the win win scenarios one can play out in life.

    So maybe in the end, there is a positive to being into one’s own brand! The perspective however, is that too much focus, especially for marketing or social media, is overwhelming. This perspective I can see and definitely agree with.

    Good blog entry. I might just become a regular reader. 🙂

Leave a Reply

