Having Character vs Being a Character

First off, I’m extremely excited about the blog right now.  I’m approaching my first 200 hits, my tenth comment and I just got my first track back – thanks Chris!

I’m trying to work out how to include pictures in this bad-boy and I may even do an extreme podcast series.  That would be me listening to podcasts, not recording podcasts.  That’s next up!

Just wanted to indulge myself a little before resuming our regular programming.  Enjoy!

Having Character vs Being a Character?

Or to paraphrase Harvey Keitel in Pulp Fiction “Just because you are a character doesn’t mean you have character”.

There have been many, eloquent dismissals of character blogs from some high profile commentators but I still wanted to jump in and say what I would’ve done.

Hindsight is not just 20Twenty, it’s extremely selective, but here goes.  Character blogs have only been done by rank amateurs.

If an organization wants to improve its reputation, then it hires a PR agency.  If the organization wants to improve its website, it hires a creative web design team.  If the organization’s PR company wants to connect with consumers via a fictional character and brand mainstay, they recommend a blog written by….

Who?

Not the advertising agency.  Please not the advertising agency.  Please not the marketing or brand manager. And please not the PR agency either.

Its rank laziness to suggest that the “funniest” person at the agency can consistently write a high quality blog that would be funny, informative and on-message in order to connect with consumers.  If they could, why aren’t they doing it right now?

No, if you want a professionally written blog, you should go to a professional blogger.  It is just like sourcing the right spokesperson for a new colour of M&Ms (Pamela Anderson in case you’re wondering).

The blogger is writing as a representative for your brand and so should be the best, most suitable and most qualified that you can find (or afford). 

If I had to start a character blog, and I wouldn’t recommend it right now, then I’d go for a pro.  I’d go for someone like a Mulgrew, a Letter D, a Waiter or even one of the gossip rags Tyler Durden or I Don’t Like You.  Hell, I’d even go to one of the very funny guys from The Onion if I had to.

But better than a character blog is a celebrity blog.  For example, MSN has some great content leading up to the World Cup in a series of Player Diaries.  The best and most widely read blogs are written by people with character, not characters.

Consumers aren’t stupid, they are you and I.  And we respond better to intelligent conversation and dialogue from people like Jonathan Schwartz and Bob Lutz.

It’s far better to have character, than to be a character, especially in the blogosphere.

2 Responses to Having Character vs Being a Character

  1. Two things:

    1. What makes fiction so compelling is the fact that by-and-large its characters have character. In non-fiction, character in “real” people is quite rare.

    2. Blogging is first and foremost about writing. That said, the most significant writing done… in history!… has been fiction.

    Regards,

    – Amanda Chapel

  2. Billy Cosman says:

    cool!!!

Leave a Reply

