Who, What, Where, Why, When

I’m a three year veteran of the Public Relations industry, ever since I accepted an internship at Weber Shandwick in the UK.  Now I’m working in Canada at one of, if not the, top agencies in Toronto. 

Although my background is in Politics, I’ve always been fascinated by media and in using media to your advantage.  My dissertation was written on the media relations campaign of the New Labour Party’s 1997 General Election strategy and I won a scholarship to study the 1998 US Congressional Mid Term elections.

However, until a year ago I had no idea what a blog was.  No idea what social media was and worst of all, I thought I knew what was going on on-line.  Which of course meant I had no idea what was really going on on-line.

A year on and I'm a social media evangelist.  I annoy just about every senior member of my firm proposing new social media ideas for their clients.  I regularly read a selection of the excellent PR and marketing blogs that are out there.  I subscribe to podcasts (I blame Ricky Gervais) and I now I'm joining in the conversations. 

After all, media has been democratized and everyone has something to say.

Effectively managing a company's Public Relations can be an awesome communications tool but, as my favourite TS Eliot quote reveals, "between the idea and the reality falls the shadow".This is a look at the shadow and about trying to connect the idea with the reality.

I hope this has covered all of the essential tenets of a PR “press release” but if you have any questions, please jump into the conversation by commenting or if there’s something you really want to read about, email me at e_v_lee@hotmail.com.

8 Responses to Who, What, Where, Why, When

  1. Cool. I think you should bring a good perspective, with your background. Plus, we need more Canadian PR bloggers.

    I particularly like you comment: “I annoy just about every senior member of my firm proposing new social media ideas for their clients.”

    Keep it up. A social media program or some WOM tactics may not work for every client, but, like other tools, it needs to be considered to see if/how it may fit.

    Also, thanks for the link. However, you have me listed as “The Flack” with my address; though that blog title belongs to Peter Himler. You can list me either as my blog title or my name.
    Good luck.
    Mike

  2. Chris Clarke says:

    Thanks for the link. I’d be interested to hear more about you (where you work, how you like it, your name…)

    I’d like to echo Mike’s comment. Bug them all until they get it. Once they do, be the first to throw it back in their faces! (just kidding, of course).

    Keep up the good blogging!

  3. edlee says:

    Mike, Chris,

    Thanks for the encouraging comments – apologies for the link, which is now fixed.

    I’ll go into a bit more detail about my background, the sort of clients i’ve worked on and how I’m enjoying Canada and the Canadian Media in my next post I’m still pretty new to this all, so please bear with me!

    Unfortunately, my company has a no-blogging policy so I can’t share where I work or any information that may be considered confidential. Like I said, senior members are pretty slow to adopt new ideas but hopefully we’ll win them over!

    I thought that my name showed up, but if not, I apologise.

    I’m Ed Lee, I’m 26 and I’m a senior consultant.

  4. Terry Fallis says:

    Hey Ed,

    Welcome to the new world. I’ve subscribed to your blog and look forward to your perspectives. And thanks for linking to our Inside PR podcast (www.insidepr.ca). I’ll keep reading and hope you’ll keep listening.

    Ter

  5. David Jones says:

    We need more young PR pros experimenting with this stuff. Good on you for jumping in to figure it all out. We’re all here to help. Good luck with the blog. Count me as a subscriber.

  6. Hi Ed,
    Congrats on the new blog. I’ve subscribed and will look forward to participating in the conversation with you.

  7. Hi Ed,

    I am new to Blogging too, but am keen to chat through topics relating to PR and Social Media. I am based at an digital marketing agency in Fleet Street, London.

    Looking forward to it.

    Cheers,

    James

Leave a Reply

