How do you keep yourself motivated?

It’s Monday morning, you’ve had a relaxing, enjoyable and hopefully stress free weekend and the week ahead is looking pretty fearsome.

There are plans to be written, news releases need editing, media calls need to be made and, oh, what’s this? One of your account team has handed in their resignation. Your week just got a lot worse and in five minutes your desk is going to look like this.

work-is-hell.jpg

Your weekend is still fresh in your mind and you’re not sure how you’re going to make it through the next six days. Oh yes, you’ll be working Saturday! You need motivation and fast.

To keep myself motivated, I use two methods – positive and negative.

On one hand, I keep a special “praise” file in Outlook. If I’ve done a great job on something and someone is kind enough to send me some praise, it goes straight into the file. Then, if I’m ever doubting myself, I can simply click into the praise file and bam!, there’s my self validation.  This was a great tip that the always marvellous Vicky Entwistle gave me when she was my line manager.

The other thing I’ve done is to keep all the rejection emails from when I was doing the milk round and applying for graduate jobs. My focus was a little different back then, investment banking, management consulting and insurance and I originally kept the emails for the contact details they had.

After a time, they started to become a constant reminder for me, whenever I checked my Hotmail, as to how many people were doubting me. Eventually, instead of de-motivating me and bringing me down, they started to act as catalyst for me to work as hard as possible and to prove these people wrong.

So, almost four years after being rejected for a graduate training position with Merrill Lynch by Nikki Walker, her email still inspires me and keeps me motivated.

Thanks to s.l.o.w.p.o.ke. at flickr for the photo.

Do you represent a laptop manufacturer or retailer? Do you want your logo here? If you do, please email me!

*UPDATED to attribute the praise folder idea*

3 Responses to How do you keep yourself motivated?

  1. [...] How Do You Keep Yourself Motivated? (Blogging Me Blogging You) – I am big fan of Ed’s first method of motivation.  I’ve been doing the same thing for several years now and tell my team to do the same.  Except, I call it a “kudos” folder. [...]

  2. newmw says:

    It’s like reverse psychology, love the tips! Or should I say, I hate ‘em? :) I usually run away from critique, both negative and positive, because when I know I work hard, I know I’m doing the best I can already. If it’s good feedback I can use it, but if it’s lousy critique, I just press *delete*

  3. [...] How Do You Keep Yourself Motivated? (Blogging Me Blogging You) – I am big fan of Ed’s first method of motivation. I’ve been doing the same thing for several years now and tell my team to do the same. Except, I call it a “kudos” folder. [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 4,834 other followers

